Emergency Response Systems

Emergency Response Systems

Emergency Response Systems may be provided to qualified ICWP participants.

Eligibility Criteria

The Independent Care Waiver is designed for eligible Medicaid members with severe physical disabilities who are between the ages of 21 and 64 when they apply and when services are started and who meet the criteria below. They must:

  • Be capable of managing their own services (individuals with a TBI do not have to meet this criteria);
  • Have a severe physical impairment and/or TBI that substantially limits one or more activities of daily living and requires the assistance of another individual;
  • Do not have a primary diagnoses of a mental disorder (mental retardation/mental illness)
  • Be medically stable but at risk of placement in a hospital or nursing facility if community-based support services are not available; and
  • Be safely placed in a home or community setting.

Other factors also help determine whether eligible applicants can receive waiver services, including currently residing in a hospital or nursing facility, length of time on the waiting list, ability to live independently, and the estimated cost of care (based on the projected care plan).

Individuals who are considering nursing home or other institutional care may be eligible for home- and community-based services as an alternative through Georgia’s Medicaid waiver program.

To qualify for the waiver programs, individuals must meet the criteria for Medicaid payment in an institution and certain other criteria as outlined above.

Applicants are then offered the choice between community-based services or institutional care as long as the community services do not cost more than the institutional care.

Ready To Work With Us?

Use our contact form to have one of our team members contact you today.